RSS

Memories

02 Jun

It wasn’t the first time your existence vaporized from memory.

Panic tumbles as I attempt and fail to recall.

Flames of pain surge through my soul, licking the scarred reminders.

Better to remember?

Better to forget?

I wonder.

This weekend’s prompt is a return to the 33-word formula. One of the earliest Trifextra challenges asked you to complete a story of which the opening five words had been given. And that’s exactly what we want you to do again this weekend.
Complete the following story in 33 words:
‘It wasn’t the first time.’

 
32 Comments

Posted by on June 2, 2012 in poem, Trifecta, writing prompts

 

Tags:

32 responses to “Memories

  1. Diane Turner

    June 2, 2012 at 7:27 PM

    Oooo, so good!

     
    • Chelle

      June 2, 2012 at 7:38 PM

      Thank you! I love when words bubble up as easily as these did.

       
  2. Libby

    June 2, 2012 at 7:50 PM

    Intense and something we can relate to. I think this is really good! πŸ™‚

     
    • Chelle

      June 2, 2012 at 7:56 PM

      Thanks! I had so many different ideas for this one. Good prompt this weekend.

       
  3. The Gal Herself

    June 2, 2012 at 7:56 PM

    I agree with Libby (the previous commenter). As I was reading the first word that popped into my head was “intense.”

     
    • Chelle

      June 2, 2012 at 8:41 PM

      I know as I read other people’s work, I can feel the power of their words. I wonder if my words do the same for others. Thanks for the feedback.

       
  4. Gina

    June 2, 2012 at 8:12 PM

    A good love that caused pain? I think…always remember.

     
    • Chelle

      June 2, 2012 at 8:44 PM

      Could be love, unexpected change in life….so many things. Thanks for stopping by.

       
  5. Sandra Tyler (@SFiberworks)

    June 3, 2012 at 7:13 AM

    Good question.

     
    • Chelle

      June 3, 2012 at 3:08 PM

      One without an answer, maybe? Thanks for stopping by.

       
  6. Weissdorn

    June 3, 2012 at 8:06 AM

    Thank you for sending the sensation of the hair rising on my skin.

     
    • Chelle

      June 3, 2012 at 3:39 PM

      Anytime. πŸ™‚ Thanks for stopping by.

       
  7. justkeepinitrealfolks

    June 3, 2012 at 3:34 PM

    I think many of us have been there- too painful to remember and too painful to forget.

     
    • Chelle

      June 3, 2012 at 3:40 PM

      A limbo of sorts. Thanks for stopping by.

       
  8. Sandra

    June 3, 2012 at 11:18 PM

    Makes me wonder what circumstances precede this indecision… Filled with pain, for sure. Nice!

     
    • Chelle

      June 4, 2012 at 12:05 AM

      Thank you, Sandra.

       
  9. Lucy

    June 4, 2012 at 12:13 AM

    I recently had a side effect to medication which involved some memory lost. You totally nailed it when you used the words “Panic tumbles as I attempt and fail to recall.”. Luckily my memory is coming back slowly! Great job!

     
    • Chelle

      June 4, 2012 at 12:28 AM

      Memory loss is scary on every level. I’m glad yours is coming back. Thanks for stopping by. πŸ™‚

       
  10. trifectawriting

    June 4, 2012 at 12:57 AM

    Thanks for linking up with Trifextra this weekend. This short piece leaves me wanting to know more. Hopefully we’ll hear more from you soon.

     
    • Chelle

      June 4, 2012 at 9:10 AM

      Glad to link up again. I might venture beyond the weekend prompt soon. πŸ™‚

       
  11. Renada Styles

    June 4, 2012 at 7:23 AM

    Strong language, strong piece. I’m certain many can relate. I know there is a person or two with whom I had some of the best memories with. Yet, being reminded of certain moments, it makes all those good memories almost not worth the recollection at all.
    Good write!

     
    • Chelle

      June 4, 2012 at 9:11 AM

      Thank you, Renada. You summed it up perfectly.

       
  12. SusanWritesPrecise

    June 4, 2012 at 7:47 AM

    Wow! Very nice. I like this one a lot.

     
    • Chelle

      June 4, 2012 at 9:11 AM

      Thank you, Susan!

       
  13. jesterqueen (@jesterqueen)

    June 4, 2012 at 10:05 AM

    I love the picture illustrating this one. It seems to compliment the story perfectly.

     
    • Chelle

      June 4, 2012 at 2:35 PM

      The picture grabbed my attention when I went to find one. Thanks!

       
  14. Sandra Tyler (@SFiberworks)

    June 4, 2012 at 10:12 AM

    ooh, just saw you’re on studio30plus, congratulations!!

     
    • Chelle

      June 4, 2012 at 2:36 PM

      Thank you! I just signed up a few days ago and haven’t really had time to get settled in. On my to do list for today though! πŸ™‚

       
  15. Imelda

    June 5, 2012 at 1:33 PM

    I’ve been too busy vacationing and am not able to read as much. I love this poem – it captures that bittersweet feeling about memories. πŸ™‚

     
    • Chelle

      June 5, 2012 at 3:55 PM

      Vacation away girl! Hope you’re having a great time. Thank you. πŸ™‚

       
  16. Debra

    June 6, 2012 at 7:01 PM

    I was in panic just this morning because for a brief moment I could not remember my dad’s beautiful singing voice. I quickly listened to some old recordings and was comforted, but I SO identify with this piece. Good job! Thanks for sharing!

     
    • Chelle

      June 6, 2012 at 9:18 PM

      Thank you, Debra. Memories and our ability to recall them can be such a complicated process. I’m glad you have recordings of your dad’s singing to help comfort you during those times.

       

Leave a Reply

 
