RSS

Screaming Window

09 Jun

Kalita stood, face pressed against their living room window. She watched the figures walking down her long driveway. Her somber eyes brought back blurry visions of her husband, David, his girlfriend and her three kids, talking and laughing. David’s right arm, stretched behind him, pulled the rolling black luggage, piled artfully with matching pieces. His left arm, free, reached across his girlfriend’s shoulders, giving her a quick, playful squeeze. The girlfriend’s laughter, drifting up the driveway, reminded Kalita of breaking glass; much like her heart watching the carefree moments.

Kalita’s eyes trailed to David. Foggy perplexity pushed its way into her brain as she tried to understand why he was wearing the long, green winter coat with the furry grey lining on the hood. The very coat he’d just presented her three days ago for their ten-year anniversary.

He’s wearing my coat and taking my luggage, her mind whispered. Curiosity, rather than anger strummed through her thoughts.

David’s girlfriend, clad in a red skin-tight ski suit, tossed her blonde hair as she turned to look at Kalita. The hands of time seem to be held in place by an unseen force. Their eyes locked; inquisitiveness radiating from Kalita’s, victory from the girlfriend’s.

Was David that much of a prize for her? Kalita wondered. Would she still think so when the novelty wore off. When the honeymoon period switched as quickly as the simple push of a button on a remote. When the girlfriend would suddenly snap on the light bulb of reality that David actually meant for you to iron his t-shirts and briefs. Those unexpected and outrageous requests, punctuated with one hundred watt light bulb moments.

Will you feel so victorious then, Mz. Blonde Bimbo with the perfect ass? Kalita smirked. “Well, will you?” she mouthed.

The girlfriend flashed a million dollar toothpaste commercial smile. Vaguely, Kalita recalled from the gossip mill what she knew about the girlfriend. The last two boyfriends, she recalled, were married as well. One a dentist, which explained the smile. The other, a plastic surgeon, which explained the defiance of gravity.

Kalita returned the smile, slowly, brightly and wide. She imagined at that very moment, her face must resemble a beauty make-over by a ghoulish clown gone horribly wrong.

Without missing a beat, the girlfriend lifted her left, perfectly manicured hand, momentarily blinding Kalita with a diamond on her engagement finger. Slowly, she flipped Kalita a red-nail middle finger.

Kalita sat up in bed, fast, shallow panting, her heart racing. Perspiration covered her forehead. A wave of nausea leapt from her belly, challenging the speed of light, into her throat.

David sat up next to her.

“Nightmare?” came the simple question.

Kalita nodded.

“Okay, lay back down. I’ll take care of it.

Kalita obeyed wordlessly.

***I don’t plan on doing anything with this piece. The green coat and the black luggage are from a dream I had a few nights ago. I didn’t think much of it until later in the day when the images popped back into my head. Then my mind started weaving  a scene and there you have it. 

When I went to look at the prompt for Inspiration Monday, ‘Screaming Window’ caught my attention and I put the two together.*** 

 
13 Comments

Posted by on June 9, 2012 in fiction, InMon, Random Story, writing prompts

 

Tags: , ,

13 responses to “Screaming Window

  1. bekindrewrite

    June 11, 2012 at 9:48 PM

    Oh, very cool. Dream pieces can be risky, since people aren’t always pleased at the “psych! It was all a dream!” moment, but this one worked well. Especially since you included the clue about the coat at the beginning. You’ve also got some great humor in this piece – the toothpaste commercial smile, and the “which explained the defiance of gravity.’ Nice!

     
    • Chelle

      June 11, 2012 at 10:02 PM

      Thank you.
      I remember years ago when Dallas was popular, so many people were not happy to find out the previous season was a dream. Ironically, that’s all I can recall about the show, even though I use to watch it.
      The toothpaste commercial smile and the defiance of gravity were my favorite parts to put in there. 🙂

       
  2. Imelda

    June 12, 2012 at 6:08 AM

    Oh! I was glad it was only a dream, a nightmare rather. I was very much disgusted at the husband and Kalita. Nicely done.:-)

     
    • Chelle

      June 12, 2012 at 8:39 AM

      Lol. Thanks. Crazy how dreams can inspire something.

       
  3. TheOthers1

    June 12, 2012 at 10:23 AM

    Our mind conjures up the most interesting things. What worries us usually pops to the surface first. I really liked this.

     
    • Chelle

      June 13, 2012 at 8:48 AM

      That is so true. Our minds are always working. I find it amazing how people, places, and situations will appear in our dreams.

       
  4. Debra

    June 13, 2012 at 12:47 AM

    Intense and dramatic. It pulled emotions and painted vivid images. Funny how things come from dreams. My most haunting piece to date is from a dream. Thanks for sharing this!

     
    • Chelle

      June 13, 2012 at 8:37 AM

      Thank you, Debra! I love my dreams but usually forget them. There’s one other dream I had years ago I’ve never forgotten. Intense and scary but I’ve toyed with the idea of working a story from it.
      Is your haunting piece on your blog? I’d like to read it.

       
  5. elmowrites

    June 14, 2012 at 9:25 AM

    You carried off the “it was all a dream” switch well, although I’m not sure what the husband is refering to when he says “I’ll take care of it”. Also “Her three kids” makes it hard to know if they are the girlfriend’s kids or Kalita’s. I assumed the former, but that left me a bit confused.
    On the whole, I enjoyed the piece. You totally conveyed her emotions and bitterness through your choice of words.

     
    • Chelle

      June 14, 2012 at 1:19 PM

      I read through Screaming Window again with your points in mind. It is confusing when I refer to ‘her 3 children’. I meant it as the girlfriend’s kids.
      This story was just something random and the husband saying ‘I’ll take care of it’ popped into my head. I left that open to interpretation as I didn’t have anything specific in mind.
      Thanks for your feedback.

       
  6. KP

    June 14, 2012 at 2:34 PM

    Dream endings are always a bit dicey, but I think this could be the beginning of … what prompted the nightmare? What has Kalita found out?

     
    • Chelle

      June 14, 2012 at 5:46 PM

      I agree, there are many ways to approach the nightmare.

       

Leave a Reply

 
