RSS

Here A Sigh, There A Sigh

13 Jun

Something wet and in serious need of a breath mint ambushes my face. I pry one eye open to see Sal, my St. Bernard and Great Dane mix; his two eyes to my one eye, facing off. Sal takes my open eye as an invitation to jump full force on my bladder. Dodging his massive paws, I struggle to escape the tangle of bed sheets to stand up. Sal offers his assistance by headbutting me onto the floor. I shake my head and wordlessly take him to the front door for his morning ritual of barking at real and imagined foes.

I drag myself into the kitchen, doing a shuffled happy dance at the sound of fresh coffee sputtering in the coffee maker. My husband, Tanner, of one year exactly this morning, hugs me and gently scoots me out of the kitchen. Ah, anniversary breakfast, I think. I hurry through my shower, attempting to pacify my vocal stomach much as one pacifies a crying infant.

Hair still damp, I settle on one of the kitchen bar stools in happy anticipation. It’s in this moment, I realize I hear coffee brewing but I don’t smell coffee brewing. Tanner picks up on my thoughts, swivels his head between me and the coffee pot, shrugs and grins sheepishly.

I sigh.

I didn’t use to be a person who sighs but after being married to Tanner, it is the newest personality trait I have acquired as a wife. I watch as he pours out the brewed hot water, ceremoniously scoops coffee grounds into the filter, refills the coffee pot, pours the water and hits the on button. The washer emits its high-pitched, ‘I’m-done-washing-come-get-these-clothes-out-of-me’ sound.

I lay my head on the kitchen island. My stomach protests. I can hear Tanner mumbling to himself. He appears from the laundry room, shrugs and grins sheepishly before walking past me into the bathroom. He reappears with the dirty clothes he forgot to put in the washer.

I sigh.

My ears begin to distinguish between two sounds of water. I know one is the washer. I look towards the coffee pot. All seems well there. My eye catches the kitchen faucet cascading an overload of water in the sink, imitating a waterfall. I jump up, knocking my bar stool over, sending it clashing to the floor. Tanner peeks his head around the doorway just as I finish shutting off the faucet. He shrugs and grins sheepishly as he heads to get the mop and bucket.

I sigh.

On the tail end of my sigh, I hear Sal grunting and huffing. I shake my head and walk to the front door. This is a daily routine for Sal and I. His massive head is peeking through the comically too small doggie door. He sees me and I can tell from the movement of his head, he’s doing his full body wag. Tanner insisted on putting in the doggie door while Sal was in his short lap dog stage. It takes a couple of minutes to convince Sal to take his head out of the narrow opening so I can open the door. He lumbers in and goes straight to the kitchen.

I sigh.

I follow Sal, with far less enthusiasm. I feel a little better when I see a freshly poured cup of coffee waiting for me. Tanner gives me another quick hug, disappears into the laundry room, reappearing with a beautifully wrapped gift. I ooohh and aaahhh over my husband’s thoughtfulness. As I’m reading the card. Sal begins to howl with all his might. I recognize that howl. The smoke detector screeches out a warning. Simultaneously, Tanner and I look towards the oven. Smoke is backed up but determined to make its way out of confinement. Tanner shrugs and grins sheepishly.

I sigh.

My temples begin to throb. Tanner ushers me from the kitchen taking me into the master bathroom. He draws a bubble bath with my favorite scent; Lilac. He gives me two aspirins and my book to read. As I slide into the bubbles, he kisses the top of my head. That’s my Tanner, I think as my eyes spy the unopened mint face mask. Reading my mind, Tanner hands me the face mask and quietly closes the door behind him. I know he will go downstairs and fix everything. I smear my face with the mask and relax. I drift off. Relaxed. At. Last.

When I  hear Tanner calling for me, frantically.

I jump out of the tub, creating a million scenarios in my head, each worse than the one before. I run full speed down the stairs feeling mighty proud that I didn’t trip and roll down. I almost collide with Sal, who his barking hysterically, stopping just short of tumbling over him.

“Surprise!” our family and friends yell.

I freeze in all of my glory. Which isn’t too hard to do with the face mask on.

I look at Tanner.

He shrugs and smiles sheepishly.

I sigh.

*********************************************************************************************************************************

This week, I was able to write a story that fit two prompts. I’ve linked up with The Lightning and the Lighting Bug-Prompt #54 Gone Fishing for the first time. This week your challenge was to include an absent-minded person/character in your piece, be it fiction, non-fiction, or poetry. I can’t wait to see what everyone came up with!

For the Scriptic prompt exchange this week, Mike gave me this prompt: Write about someone who has, or has had, or is about to have, a headache. Literal or metaphorical. Or both!.

I gave Diane this prompt: When I’m in my dream-state, I find the most challenging aspect to be……

I thought it would be fun to put the two together. Hope it made ya smile at least a little. 🙂

 

Tags: , , ,

5 responses to “Here A Sigh, There A Sigh

  1. Misfit Matriarch

    June 14, 2012 at 11:06 AM

    Haha! Very cute 🙂

    xoxo

    Misfit Matriarcg

     
    • Chelle

      June 14, 2012 at 1:20 PM

      Thank you. 🙂

       
  2. Patty Ann (@anothercookipls)

    June 16, 2012 at 8:56 AM

    Can’t help but sigh along with you….and smile! Very well done!

     
    • Chelle

      June 16, 2012 at 2:16 PM

      Lol. Thank you. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
