RSS

A Harvest Gathering

29 Jun

First, let me say this, loosing teeth was a nightmare for me as a child. I could not stand the feel of a wiggling tooth or pulling my tooth out. I managed to hide my ‘itfreaksmeout’ state when my own kids started losing their teeth. I still don’t like kids showing me their loose teeth.   

It freaks me out.

The other part to this is: When my daughter was younger, she asked me about tooth fairies. I quickly made up a story that tooth fairies came to gather your baby teeth in order to replant them for the other children who didn’t have teeth yet.

So when I saw this week’s Five Sentence Fiction, Harvest, I remembered the story I told my daughter and played around with the idea a little.

Giggling and tittering, they wait for darkness to settle. Upon sounds of slumber, translucent, glittery wings wiggle, building momentum for flights designed with purpose. Silence stands in awe as they slip under pillows, careful not to disturb dreams of innocence. Choppy, bumpy landings spill the fruits of labor from bags as wingless gathers separate teeth into piles. Incisors, molars, and canines, neatly ground for tooth fairy fuel.

 
9 Comments

Posted by on June 29, 2012 in Five Sentence Fiction, writing prompts

 

Tags: ,

9 responses to “A Harvest Gathering

  1. Lora Mitchell

    June 30, 2012 at 1:03 AM

    Adorable. Tooth fairy harvesting baby teeth. Wish tooth fairies would find a way to harvest these teeth…keep them on ice for when the elderly need a 3rd set.

     
    • Chelle

      June 30, 2012 at 12:43 PM

      Lol. I like that idea of keeping the teeth for the third set.

       
  2. SAM

    July 1, 2012 at 6:20 PM

    i love this! Especially the idea that the teeth are ground up for fuel.

     
  3. Quentin, Jenna (@JennaQuentin)

    July 2, 2012 at 7:06 AM

    Lovely word choices!

     
    • Chelle

      July 2, 2012 at 8:30 PM

      Thank you. 🙂

       
  4. Michelle Wallace

    July 3, 2012 at 1:04 PM

    Such a charming and original take on the prompt! There’s an appealing sense of fun and light-heartedness in your tale. I can actually picture this as a kiddies comic strip which could be educational as well as entertaining… 🙂
    I’m visiting from FSF.

     
    • Chelle

      July 3, 2012 at 4:32 PM

      I like the idea of an educational kiddies comic strip. Thank you for stopping by. 🙂

       
  5. Britton Minor

    July 5, 2012 at 12:04 PM

    This is a precious take on this week’s word. How sweet…

     

Leave a Reply

 
