RSS

Turning Back The Clock

07 Sep

When I first started this story, it was in response to a prompt. Read here for the first part.

Corey Eisner, is the new, up and coming prosecuting attorney who has been assigned to send us to death row. He’s made plenty of statements to the media stressing how he will not rest until he knows we meet with the fate of having a needle put into our arms. He has also assured Kevin’s family and friends it won’t be a twenty year process of constant appeals.

I believe him.

Mr. Eisner is preparing to give his opening statement to the twelve strangers seated in the jury box. I’m not quite sure how these twelve people are my peers. What do they know about us? They’ve never spoken to us. They’ve never asked, ‘How did it get to this point? Would you change it if you could?’ I don’t believe they haven’t been exposed to the headlines in some manner or another. The entire jail of inmates knew who we were before we were even arrested and booked.

I remember reading somewhere once our brains aren’t capable of creating faces as we dream. You think your mind conjures up a stranger’s face, but the reality is at one point, even if it was just a second, you’ve seen that face somewhere. Maybe the jurors didn’t know it was our case being discussed but I’d lay money down they’ve heard something about us.

My attorney keeps telling me I need to quit coming across like I don’t care about what’s going on around me. It’s not that I don’t care, it’s that I already know I will be sent to death row. I don’t see the point of carrying on a trial when we could just plead guilty. Presenting all that evidence isn’t going to change a damn thing. It won’t clean the blood from our hands. It won’t bring Kevin back. It won’t make all of our lives go back in time and back to normal.

Studio30+ offered two prompts this week. I chose ‘Back To Normal’

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 7, 2012 in book, fiction, Studio30Plus, WIP, writing prompts

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
